Merry Blessing Fellowship

Merry Blessing is the grand mother of Nina Monzo who was an architectural student of Slobodan Dan Paich at UC Berkeley, an intern at the Artship and made significant architectural and planning drawings used in the permit processes, grant applications, printed materials and public meetings. She was also a convener of the disable access committee that made two levels of the ship, where the historic salons were assessable. After Graduating she became a long-term member of the Artship Board of Directors.

The fellowship is given to an art student, recently graduated, emerging artist or practicing artist expanding into a new discipline, the people who have contributed significantly while participating in Artship programing. The fund covers production, installing and short-term accommodation expenses for non-local artists while participating in Artship Initiatives. It is given to individuals who have risen to high professional standard while working with Artship. Merry Blessing fellowship at the Artship Foundation began in 2000.

Mary Blessing Fellows

  • 2000  Ben Troutman, sculptor
  • 2001  Igor Ivan Sapic, visual artist
  • 2002  Nathaniel Bolton visual artist
  • 2003  Marija Krtolica, dancer, choreographer
  • 2004  Hallie Rose Hunt, dancer
  • 2005  Marie Perrey, accordion player
  • 2006  Kheven Lee LeGrone, visual artist, emerging curator
  • 2007  Catrina Kaupat, dancer, singer, actor
  • 2008  Tom Franco, actor, dancer
  • 2009  Ali Tabaz, singer, actor
  • 2010  Alejandro Pinot, actor, storyteller
  • 2011  Daniel Boord, saxophone player
  • 2012  Alessandra Campoli and Martino Nicoletti, visual artists
  • 2013  Nikos Brisco and Ruth Margraff, musicians, composers, writers
  • 2014  Pablo Vindel Moruno, visual artist